JULES Governance

The development of JULES is governed by two committees - the Science and Applications Committee and the Management Committee. Both committees meet regularly, usually during the JULES Science Meetings.

The Science and Applications Committee is made up of key members of the JULES scientific community, and its role is to facilitate the co-ordination of the UK research community in the development of the science within JULES:

  • Steer the scientific development of JULES
  • Report on science progress in the community
  • Report requirements and priorities for JULES applications on both short (less than 1 year) and long (3-5 years) timescales
  • Report to the Management Committee where there are issues with delivery to Applications
  • Keep the JULES website up to date with science progress and requirements
  • Host an annual science meeting
  • Co-ordinate community experiments
  • Ensure the robustness of developments with appropriate standards in both science and coding
  • Identify key benchmark data and metrics for testing out science modules
  • Identify the best configurations for different JULES applications

The Management Committee is made up of representatives from organisations that are committing core resources to JULES development, and is responsible for overseeing the management of JULES:

  • Aim to deploy resources within the Land Surface Modelling Group (Met Office and CEH) to ensure critical developments identified by Science and Applications Committee are achieved
  • Report progress and potential issues to the Met Office/NERC Joint Weather and Climate Research Program (JWCRP)


Science and Applications Committee members

Module / Application / ProjectNameInstitution
SurfaceRichard EsseryUniv. Edinburgh
HydrologyAnne VerhoefUniv. Reading
 Nic GedneyMet Office
VegetationAnna Harper (co-chair)Univ. Exeter
 Lina MercadoUniv. Exeter
 [Vacant since end June 2017] 
BiogeochemistrySarah ChadburnUniv. Exeter
 Mat WilliamsUniv. Edinburgh
Biogenic fluxesOliver WildUniv. Lancaster
 Gerd FolberthMet Office
Evaluation, calibration and data assimilationTristan QuaifeUniv. Reading
 Eleanor Blyth (co-chair)CEH Wallingford
TechnicalKerry Smout-DayMet Office
UKESM1Colin JonesMet Office
UKEPHuw LewisMet Office
Global ModelDavid WaltersMet Office
ImpactsRichard BettsMet Office
Community experimentsStephen SitchUniv. Exeter


Management Committee members

Martin Best (chair)Met Office
Chris JonesMet Office
Nick ReynardCEH Wallingford
Doug ClarkCEH Wallingford