You are here: Home / Community / Governance

The JULES Community Process

Information about the governance of JULES

The JULES management structure

The development of JULES is governed by two committees - the Science and Applications Committee and the Management Committee. Both committees meet regularly, usually linked with the JULES Science Meetings.

The Science and Applications Committee is made up of key members of the JULES scientific community, and its role is to facilitate the co-ordination of the UK research community in the development of the science within JULES:

  • Steer the scientific development of JULES
  • Report on science progress in the community
  • Report requirements and priorities for JULES applications on both short (less than 1 year) and long (3-5 years) timescales
  • Report to the Management Committee where there are issues with delivery to Applications
  • Keep the JULES website up to date with science progress and requirements
  • Host an annual science meeting
  • Co-ordinate community experiments
  • Ensure the robustness of developments with appropriate standards in both science and coding
  • Identify key benchmark data and metrics for testing out science modules
  • Identify the best configurations for different JULES applications

The Management Committee is made up of representatives from organisations that are committing core resources to JULES development, and is responsible for overseeing the management of JULES:

  • Aim to deploy resources within the Land Surface Modelling Group (Met Office and CEH) to ensure critical developments identified by Science and Applications Committee are achieved
  • Report progress and potential issues to the Met Office/NERC Joint Weather and Climate Research Program (JWCRP)

Science and Applications Committee members

Module / Application / ProjectNameInstitution
Surface Helen Ward (co-chair) University of Reading
Richard Essery University of Edinburgh
Hydrology Anne Verhoef University of Reading
Nic Gedney Met Office
Vegetation Anna Harper (co-chair) University of Exeter
Lina Mercado University of Exeter
Biogeochemistry Sarah Chadburn University of Exeter
Mat Williams University of Edinburgh
Biogenic fluxes Oliver Wild Lancaster University
Gerd Folberth Met Office
Evaluation, calibration and data assimilation Tristan Quaife University of Reading
Eleanor Blyth (co-chair) Centre for Ecology and Hydrology
Technical Kerry Smout-Day Met Office
UKESM1 Colin Jones Met Office
UKEP Huw Lewis Met Office
Global model David Walters Met Office
Impacts Richard Betts Met Office
Community experiments Stephen Sitch University of Exeter
Meeting organiser Emily Black University of Reading
Summer School Eleanor Blyth Centre for Ecology and Hydrology

Management committee members

  • Martin Best (Met Office) - Chair
  • Chris Jones (Met Office)
  • Nick Reynard (CEH)
  • Doug Clark (CEH)

Developing code for JULES

The JULES management committee has agreed on a set of procedures for the adoption of community code. These are summarised in the following flow diagram:

Flow diagram - procedures for adoption of community code

More detailed information for developers can be found in the Working Practices for JULES development.